Got Screwed Trying to Buy chriscoyier.com
08/15/2008
Against all better judgment, when I got a shady-looking email offering to sell me chriscoyier.com for $200 bucks, I went through with it.

Now I know that email looks like total spam, but you know some of these domain registrars have no design taste whatsoever. I figured, sure, they have no taste and I am morally opposed to their whole business model, but hey at least I can get my own damn domain name back.
So I fill out their form (even coughing up my credit card number) and submit it. I get a confirmation, which made me feel a bit better.

There was text after I filled out the form that told me that my credit card would not be charged until the domain transfer has gone through. OK, sounds fine. Then a week or so goes by and I hear nothing. I check my bank records and no charge has been made to my account. Hmmm…
Then over a month goes by and still nothing, so I sort of forget about it.
Then I get a call from my mother a few weeks ago. They get some package in the mail for me, a bunch of weird coffee and a coffee maker. I completely don’t put two and two together. I figure I probably accidently checked some stupid box when sending in a credit card bill that signed me up for some protection plan and free coffee. (I get bills sent to my parents permanent address, if you are wondering how my mother factors into this). I tell her to return the package to the sender.
So I’m checking my bank records today, and I see I recently have a credit on there. It was actually that coffee company refunding my account for the coffee. Bizarre, since I never authorized any actual payment for that coffee, especially directly out of my bank account. So I’m poking around my statement in more detail, and I start to see all these weird transactions:

Fourty bucks to “EASY GRANT SUCCES00 OF 00800-4790979″… Uhm… I don’t think so.
There were several charges from this company, and a bunch of other one-offs from very bizarre companies from around the U.S.
SCH*SCHOLASTIC AT HOME 800-955-9877 ($9.95)
DRI*SMART CD CATALOG P ($45.99)
OK, at this point I realize that my credit card has been compromised. But how? I feel like I’m usually pretty safe about these things and it’s not like I lost the card, its right here in my wallet. Then I see it:
WEBNAME SOLUTION MONTREAL ($199.95)
Ahhh. There it is. Before this charge, nothing out of the ordinary. After this charge, the shitstorm begins. The bastards waited a few months, long enough for me to forget about it, and THEN charged me and likely sold my credit card information to some other bad guys.
I am not going to hyperlink directly to the company and help their search rankings in any way, but the name of the company is Webname Solution (webnamesolution.com)
So I call my bank who issued the card. A woman helped me who was extremely helpful and nice. She emailed me a dispute form, which I filled out and had notorized, which details all of the fraudulent transactions. I also canceled the card and she’s sending me out a new one. This will probably be a huge pain in the ass updating the many many online services I use that use that card, but oh well.

So what did I learn from this? Well it’s certainly the last time I ever fill out an online form that looks in the least bit shady. I am smarter than that. I also learned that I still have a fiery sense of revenge. Today, I truly feel like the person who is behind this “company” should be killed. If I knew who is was and was guaranteed to not go to jail for doing it, I’d do it myself.
Sorry to hear this Chris,
Its a shame that people make a living out of the grief of others and they do it willingly.
On regards the link would rel no follow not have worked so you can still link to them and not allow search engines to index them?
Dear Chris,
I just wanted to inform you of this FANTASTIC OFFER!!!!!!!!
If you ACT NOW with one small payment of $199.95 we will sell you all the V1@GR@ in the WORLDDDDD!!
/joke
That sucks man, really. I really hate seeing stuff like this happen. Hope you get it all worked out.
Anthony
Wow that really sucks… But also a wise lesson I think ;)
Here is the whois record for webnamesolution.com , but I doubt it that that address is correct…
http://whois.domaintools.com/webnamesolution.com
What, there can’t be a Guy street?
I think its more suspicious that they have changed registrars 6 times in the last 4 years… Hope you got your cash back.
Chris
Sorry to hear about your troubles but how the hell did you fall for this? Always trust your gut. You wanted your name too badly and make an unwise decision. ;)
Was it a https page? if it was you could trace the certificate, that’s quite a hard trail to cover up unless that was bought with another stolen credit card.
If it wasn’t https, well, that should have been the alarm bell.
I think it was Brett Favre. (jk from a Bears fan) Good luck on the recovery process. You feel really violated when this crap happens and it’ll be a while before you try buying online again. :/
Hi Chris,
I am so sorry, they are malicious people. please keep in mind if you want to buying any domain name, just use paypal and Escrow services!
it is best way for transferring domain name. also you must contact with administrator that wrote in whois.
wow that sucks, i would definatly track them down if they have a HTTPS certificate, unless that too is self signed
either way that sucks
Hey Chris,
Thanks for posting this. I never pay attention to spam but was tempted by this one (my Mom has a .net and really wants the .com, so that’s how MY Mom factors into this).
You just saved my butt.
D
Did you get some stuff to make your teeth whiter also. The companies you mentioned above were the same ones I got crap from. I kept all the stuff and the bank gave me a credit for everything. Almost 1500.00 bucks. I was never able to find out how they got my card number?
Sorry to hear about your bad experience. I very much appreciate you taking the time to document it so well. Based on a similar email solicitation to a client I did contact the BBB in Canada about Webname Solution for what that’s worth.
– Robert
I was trying to find out what happened to my domain name I purchased off webname solutions when I came across your story. I’ll need to write into Mastercard and have the payment reversed. what money grubbing smelly ass holes.
Chris—thank you for making this posting. I just got a similar offer from webname solutions and your posting has helped me avoid the problems you faced. Sorry about your experience.
david
Thank you, Chris….Was thinking very seriously of purchasing a domain name until I did some research and found your blog. You saved me a lot of hassle. Sorry for yours.